Search This Blog

Monday, May 10, 2021

Hiking Southeast Along Bull Run

Monday, May 10, 2021 

Hi Blog!

We've done several hikes along Bull Run from our campground to Highway 28. Today, we decided to drive to the trailhead on Highway 28 and continue to follow Bull Run as it makes its way to the Occoquan River. 

Here we are at the stairs leading down to the trail. Last year, when we camped in this area, the trail crew had just started to work on these stairs


As we started our hike, it was evident that spring has sprung. Honeysuckle and primrose line the trail.


We were expecting our hike today along Bull Run to be similar to what we had done in the past. However, we were surprised with how often the trail left Bull Run and climbed to the height of land looking down on Bull Run. We crossed a number of drainages and had lots of climbs and downhills. Some drainage crossings had bridges and others did not.


We noticed a side trail leading to an overlook. We came upon a huge lean-to, complete with a bench seat. Kathy wasted no time taking advantage of the rest area.


The morning started cloudy, cool and breezy. By the time we started our hike, the sun was just peeking out. The dappled sunlight and dancing leaves followed us down the trail.


Sometimes, when you walk in the woods, you just have to sit down and take it all in.  These stumps looked like they were designed for this!


A short side trail took us right down to the banks of Bull Run.


We took a little time to watch the small fish swim by. The stream bed rocks in the shallow stretches were covered with fresh water mussels.


This has to be one of the most unique stream crossings we have encountered. Little Rocky Run starts up in Fairfax and meanders its way down to Bull Run. Here, concrete pillars were placed in the stream bank, allowing hikers to leap their way across the run.



While we didn't find many fun guys on this hike, we did find this really cool tree.


We noticed red horseshoe blazes on a number of trees. We later learned there is a red trail loop hike which starts at the Hemlock Overlook Regional Park. Most of the Bull Run Occoquan Trail is open to horseback riding. However, we saw no evidence that horseback riders actually use the trail.


After three miles, we found a nice secluded area to have our picnic lunch.


The brisk wind brought down some tulip poplar flowers.


Much of the time we are hiking, we are enjoying the sights and sounds around us. When something catches our eye, we stop and investigate. This tree stump is just such a subject that called out to be photographed.  The cut face of the stump was nearly white!


There were a number of Civil War battles fought along Bull Run. Two major battles were fought in Manassas along Bull Run. However, further downstream there were also a number of skirmishes. The trail passed next to an earthen fort used by Union Troops to protect a ford across Bull Run.


As the day warmed, the tree frogs became more active. This little guy just barely avoided becoming one with the trail.


We didn't notice this little guy on our way out. The Inuksuk is a popular trail marker in Canada, Greenland and Alaska.

We will be traveling back to Pennsylvania this week. However, we will return to Bull Run next month and hope to explore more of the Occoquan Trail. Stay tuned!


Friday, May 7, 2021

Pedaling to Harpers Ferry on the C&O Canal Trail

There are many good bike trails in the Washington, D.C. region.  While we biked 32 miles on the Mount Vernon Trail from Mount Vernon to Alexandria and back again on March 7, 2012, and did another 10 miles or so on the Woodrow Wilson Bridge Trail from National Harbor to Alexandria and back on April 5, 2012 -- not to mention a day pedaling around D.C. itself on March 11, 2012 -- we have wanted for years to explore parts of the Chesapeake & Ohio Canal Trail National Historic Site.  On Thursday, May 6, 2021, we finally had a chance to do so.

It was easy to pick the section we wanted to ride first.  We've loved our stops in Harpers Ferry National Historical Park over the years, our most favorite visit being our November 11, 2012 hike into Old Town Harpers Ferry.  On that earlier hike, we visited the headquarters of the Appalachian Trail Conservancy and walked across the Potomac River, following the Appalachian Trail on the Winchester & Potomac Railroad Bridge.  On the other side of the river, we noticed a bike path and later determined that it was the C&O Canal Trail.  Wouldn't it be fun to bike the trail, park on the opposite side, and cross the bridge, back on the A.T., to have lunch in Harpers Ferry!

And so it was done.  We found the Point of Rocks access point, about 13 miles from Harpers Ferry on the trail, drove to Point of Rocks, and set off on our bike adventure:


The weather was perfect for our ride:  mid-60's Fahrenheit, and mainly sunny with wisps of clouds.  The trail surface was a well-maintained, finely crushed gravel, perfect for long-distance riding:


We found that the canal trail was shadowed the entire way to Harpers Ferry by the tracks of the former Baltimore & Ohio (B&O) Railroad, which was acquired in 1901 by the Pennsylvania Railroad, subsequently by the Chesapeake & Ohio Railway, and finally by CSX.

Within a short distance of our start, we heard the first of perhaps a half dozen freight trains as it whizzed, clanked, screeched and clunked by us.  Our first sight of the train caught it entering the Port of Rocks Tunnel:


The B&O was the first common carrier railroad and the oldest railroad in the United States, with its first section opening in 1830. Merchants from the city of Baltimore wanted to continue to compete for trade with trans-Appalachian settlers with the newly constructed Erie Canal (serving New York City), two other canals serving Philadelphia and Richmond respectively, and the Chesapeake and Ohio Canal connecting Washington, D.C. with Pittsburgh (it never reached Ohio). 

The fates of the railroad and canal on this stretch between Point of Rocks and Harpers Ferry have been intertwined since the two competing projects were both commenced on July 4, 1828.  From the start, problems slowed progress on the canal, including rocky ground, steep cliffs with narrow access, disputes with landowners, and acute labor shortages forcing the canal company to recruit workers from other states and abroad, resulting in a dizzy stir of activity by a motley crew of Irish, German, Dutch, and English immigrants. A long legal battle with the B & O involving the right-of-way between Point of Rocks and Harpers Ferry slowed construction of both the canal and the railroad until about 1832. Inflation increased the cost of labor, materials, and land during the late 1820s and 1830s until they far exceeded the original estimates. Labor unrest among the predominantly Irish workers and the financial panic of 1837 added more difficulties, and between 1842 and 1847 construction stopped entirely. The canal was finally completed in 1850 at a total cost of $11 million.

After the canal's peak year in 1871, coal traffic began to decline, as mining companies shifted more of their business to the B & O Railroad. A major economic depression in the mid-1870s and major floods in 1877 and 1886 put a severe strain on the C&O Canal's finances. In 1889 another serious flood forced the canal company into receivership, at which point the B & O Railroad bought up the majority of C & O's bonds. The railroad had captured almost all of the canal's trade by 1924 when another devastating flood struck. This time, no repairs were made, and the canal's operation as a trade route came to an end.  In 1938, the railroad sold the entire canal to the U.S. Government for $2 million, which placed it under the supervision of the National Park Service. The Park Service did some restoration under the emergency work programs of the 1930s, and other repairs took place in the following decades. In 1961, President Eisenhower proclaimed the canal a national monument. In 1971 Congress declared the C & O Canal a National Historical Park, thus conserving its historic and natural features for all to enjoy. Today, visitors can examine how the locks work, take rides in canal boats pulled by mules, and bike and walk along much of the canal's 185 mile route.

Today, stretches of the canal vary from being in nearly its original shape, full of water, to boggy ponds such as this one where turtles sunned (one of many turtle sunning spots) --


-- to wetland, to simply a dry shallow swale separating the canal multi-use trail from the railroad tracks.

The Park Service has been able to preserve, and in some cases completely reconstruct, important features of the canal.  We passed four locks that ranged in condition from excellent (totally rebuilt) to completely decayed.  The most impressive structure on the canal was, however, the reconstructed Catoctin Aquaduct (#3).  Built to carry canal water across another feature such as a stream, it crosses Catoctin Creek. Completed in 1834 from locally sourced granite, it was also called the "Crooked Aqueduct" because of the sharp turns before and after it on the canal. Recklessness among boatmen (usually because of speeding) resulted in accidents, damaging the sides of the aqueduct. In March 1870, the board ordered that all boats should slow down 50 yards from the aqueduct, and stationed a watchman to ensure compliance, as well as printing handbills to that effect.  
Here is a photo of the original aqueduct:

By Historic American Buildings Survey - This image is available from the United States Library of Congress's Prints and Photographs divisionunder the digital ID hhh.md0687.  Public Domain, https://commons.wikimedia.org/w/index.php?curid=30550418

Since it uses two different kinds of arches: elliptical in the center, and Roman on the side, the two stresses do not balance each other, and are prone to failure. Cited as the worst built structure on the canal, during construction the west pier was torn down and rebuilt. Leaking seriously since 1859, it sagged badly in 1926, finally collapsing in October 31, 1973.  Between 2007 and 2010, funds were raised for restoring the aqueduct. In 2010 the National Park Service awarded a $3.93 million contract to carry out the restoration work. 459 original stones from the aqueduct were found and used in the restoration, and the aqueduct was reopened to visitors on October 15, 2011.

The result is an impressive structure that is accompanied by useful explanatory material.  Our stop here was longer than most of our stops, because it took some time to absorb the whole experience.


Each lock on the canal typically was supported by a lockkeeper's house and related facilities.  Each of the locks we passed had a restored house, such as this one at Lock 28, which is available for overnight stays arranged with Canal Quarters, a service offered by the C&O Canal Trust, a nonprofit organization that provides overnight stays in seven lockhouses.


Along our route, we also crossed streams -- with or without original aqueducts -- where it was possible to enjoy the view of a parallel stone bridge constructed for the B&O Railroad.  The visual textures and symmetry of these structures was compelling:


The largest town along our path was Brunswick, a former mill town and home of a large railyard for the B&O Railroad.  Many of its 19th Century buildings are still intact, and we could glimpse them as we crossed the road leading across the tracks into town:


Just past Brunswick, a highway bridge passes over the canal path.  Most graffiti seems to be policed and cleaned, but two whimsical works of art have been left for appreciation by walkers and pedalers:


Within a half mile past Brunswick, we came across a large tree that had fallen in recent storms, so recently that the National Park Service hadn't had a chance to clear it.  As we pedaled up, one (clearly piqued) bicyclist was energetically (and somewhat compulsively) trying to clear a path under or around the tree.  While he fussed, we walked our bikes up to the tree, observed that others had walked them through the highest clearance, and so did the same, leaving him behind us, still trying to clear a way that satisfied him:


We told you there was more than one interesting railroad bridge:


David had climbed down a bank to get the photo of the railroad bridge above, and, when he turned around to make his way back to the canal path, he spotted Kathy, who waved across to him from under the shady boughs of trees lining the path:


As we neared within a mile of the pedestrian bridge to Harpers Ferry, we spotted this beautiful flowering tree - perhaps a dogwood, gracing the far side of the canal on the bank of the railroad grade:


We reached the bridge, which is confined to pedestrians, primarily because access to the bridge on the canal side of the Potomac River is by a narrow spiral staircase.  We locked our bikes, climbed the stairs, and gained a beautiful, panoramic view of the confluence of the Potomac and Shenandoah Rivers: 


This was, indeed, the Appalachian Trail!


We strolled across the bridge and were greeted by the quaint, village of Harpers Ferry:


In 1944 Congress authorized the establishment of Harpers Ferry National Historical Park, to take in most of the town and have it administered by the National Park Service. The majority of the existing homes in Harpers Ferry are historic. Some are registered in the National Register of Historic Places.  
In 1957 the Baltimore Sun said that the lower town was "a sagging and rotted ghost town". The first task of the Park Service was to stabilize the buildings on Shenandoah Street, the main commercial street of lower Harpers Ferry. Roofs were covered, missing windows replaced, walls on the verge of collapse reinforced, debris removed.  All in all, most of the lower town has been completely rebuilt.  

Since rebuilding, two casualties have struck the parts we visited.  On July 23, 2015, a fire broke out in downtown Harpers Ferry, destroying eight or nine businesses and two apartments in two historic buildings. The buildings are being rebuilt.  Then, in the early morning of December 21, 2019, multiple cars of a train owned by CSX derailed from the railroad bridge crossing the Potomac River. The derailment damaged a portion of the pedestrian bridge, which is attached to the railroad bridge, foreclosing all pedestrian access across the Potomac River.  To our good fortune, the bridge reopened in early July 2020.

We packed our lunches, but Kathy wisely pointed out that, after such a long morning ride, nothing would fuel our return better than a dessert of ice cream.  How could anyone disagree with that?  So those of us who did not disagree, enjoyed:


Having restored our energy, we crossed back to the canal path and started peddling to our beginning trailhead.  Miraculously, while we had not noticed even one Appalachian Trail white blaze while biking toward Harpers Ferry, they stood out clearly as we peddled back:


We were curious where the A.T. would leave the canal path, because the A.T. generally follows the Appalachian ridge, whereas the canal path follows the river valley, low by the river.  As in the case of the blazes, while we had not noticed on the way to Harper's Ferry, the A.T. was clearly marked with a double blaze to mark the turn of the A.T. off the canal path at the small village of Weverton, Maryland, perched high on the Weverton Cliffs above the Potomac River.

Speaking of Maryland, we forgot to mention that, since Harpers Ferry is in West Virginia, it was natural to conclude that, at some point, we crossed the state line from Maryland to West Virginia as we bicycled.  This question did not even enter our minds until, as we cycled, Kathy spotted this symbol, scratched by hand in the gravel of the canal path, marking the state border:


So where is the survey monument to formalize this great spot??  As it turns out, this hand-scrawled gravel document is FAKE NEWS.  The border of Maryland and West Virginia, which also forms a tricorner with Virginia, lay directly across the Potomac River from this spot.  So maybe the survey monument is over there.  We chose not to swim over to check.

Saturday, May 1, 2021

Bull Run 6.66

 Saturday, May 1, 2021

Hi Blog!

Happy May Day! We are currently in Bull Run Regional Park. This is one of the closest RV Parks to Arlington, VA. We had a great week with William at Cedar Lake Campground in Dover, PA. We have this weekend to ourselves, as William and Company took off to Philadelphia to spend a special Mother's Day Weekend at Katie's house. After all the driving we've done recently, we decided today would be a no-driving-day. Now, that doesn't mean we didn't go anywhere or do anything. Au contraire!

We have worked hard during our Covid Winter staycation to exercise and lose weight. This would be our first long hike after having lost 20lbs of pack weight! We would like to continue with our exercise program, so we started the day with a two mile run. After breakfast, we mosied over to the start of the Bluebell Loop Trail. 

A hike would not be complete without a trailhead selfie!


It's hard to believe that the last time we were here was in September. The view is totally different. Instead of all the fall colors, we are surrounded by various shades of green.


The boardwalk takes us through a marsh.



The Bluebell Loop actually follows part of the Bull Run Occoquan Trail, which, starting in our campground, stretches about 20 miles in a generally southern direction, first along the western bank of Cub Run and then continuing along the northeastern bank of Bull Run, and ultimately along the north shore of the Occoquan River.


Once we reached the intersection of the Bluebell Loop back to camp, we left most of the other hikers behind. It is always fun to run into some fun guys on the trail.


The morning was crisp and cool. However, it didn't take long for the sun to warm things up. 


The last time we crossed this bridge, a deer waded through the stream right under us. We waited as long as we could, but we never did spot the deer this time.


We were dissappointed in the Bluebell Trail. We expected to see Virginia bluebells the likes of which we saw in the Gifford Pinchot State Park. Unfortunately, spring came early down here in Virginia. The bluebells were past their prime. We did find these pretty eastern red columbine.


After three miles, we reached the Compton Road Parking area off VA 28. If we have time later this week, we will drive down and park here and see if we can log a few more miles on the Bull Run Occoquan Trail.  Just below the VA 28 trailhead, Kathy spotted this water tower, which does not seem to be in service anymore:


Just past the trailhead, we found a sandy beach area for our lunch break.


When you look at this picture, it is hard to imagine a busy highway overhead.


As we hiked back toward Bull Run Regional Park, we left the crowds and noise behind. After our run this morning, and another 6 miles of hiking, we were beginning to feel our legs. We're just lucky we don't have as many legs as this guy!


When we first walked past this large puddle of water on the trail, I noticed the tadpoles. However, it was still pretty cool in the morning and no one was moving around.


On our return trip, they were much more active. To see the tadpoles swim, click the link to this video of the tadpoles rushing away from us.

As we reached the Bluebell Loop, we ran into a number of day trippers and campers. We also realized that, in all our prior stays, we never did complete the Bluebell Loop. We always just walked back on the boardwalk. So we decided to continue on the Bluebell Loop, back to the main park road.

Now that we have completed the Bluebell Loop having not seen any bluebells, we know why we never completed the loop before:  there were no bluebells.  However, the trail was pleasant as it meandered through a flat wetland area back to the main section of the park.  Reaching the road, we turned and walked a mile or so back to our campsite.

We are still getting used to living in the RV again after seven months of sticks-and-bricks. Now that things are opening up again, we hope to get out and explore some more. Stay tuned.